New Uses for Old Things: Antique Tiles as Coasters

Antique Tiles as CoastersI had been looking for some good coasters for a while, and was not pleased with what I found. Not that there was anything wrong with them, but I needed something with character. After a frustrating late-night internet search, I was drifting off to sleep when the flash of inspiration came to me: “You idiot! You work in an architectural antique store! Go find some tiles!”

So the next day, I spent twenty minutes trying to decide which fireplace tiles to buy. I finally settled on a blue one with a torch and laurel wreath, two with abstract floral-type designs, and three plainer ones with various colors.  The decorative ones are $6 each at Preservation Station (not listed on the website, but available) and the plainer ones with no surface designs are $2 each.  They date from the mid-Nineteenth Century to about the 1920’s.

After work, I stopped by Michael’s and picked up a 99-cent square of sticky felt and applied it to the backs.  Voila! Custom coasters, unlike anyone else’s.  And if, for any reason, I ever want to turn them back into tiles, the sticky felt application is totally reversible.

Sticky felt applied to the backs of tiles

About Charity

I have an inexcusable number of cookbooks (and like to experiment with them), have worked in architectural antiques, and have been sewing most of my life. I hold a Bachelor of Science in Textiles & Apparel and Fashion Merchandising from Lipscomb University, and I am currently pursuing my M.S. in Historic/Cultural Dress and Textiles at the University of Georgia. Doing household things (except for cleaning!) and hunting for antiques are my favorite pastimes.
This entry was posted in Antiquing Adventures, Mrs. Everett's Household Guide. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

