My Great-Grandmother’s Chili Recipe

My great-grandparents' house on Edmondson Pike, Nashville, Tennessee

Please note that this is for entertainment purposes only.
I won’t be held responsible for your results if you try to cook this.

Many years ago, my mother was trying to expand her recipe collection. And she wanted her grandmother’s chili recipe.  So she sat down with a pen and paper and asked Grandmother to give her the chili recipe.  And this is what happened.

“Well,” said Grandmother, “first you cook your beans.”
“What kind of beans?” asked my mother.
“Whatever kind you want,” Grandmother replied.
“How many?”
“As many as you need.”
Bewildered, my mother decided to try to continue. “Then what?”
“Then you cook your meat,” said Grandmother.
“How much meat?”
“It depends on how many beans you cooked.”
Totally befuddled, my mother asked, “Then what?”
“Then you just season it till it tastes right and that’s all there is to it!”

“I’m sure,” muses my mother, years later, “that’s really the way she did cook it!”

About Charity

I have an inexcusable number of cookbooks (and like to experiment with them), have worked in architectural antiques, and have been sewing most of my life. I hold a Bachelor of Science in Textiles & Apparel and Fashion Merchandising from Lipscomb University, and I am currently pursuing my M.S. in Historic/Cultural Dress and Textiles at the University of Georgia. Doing household things (except for cleaning!) and hunting for antiques are my favorite pastimes.
This entry was posted in In the Kitchen, Ruminating, Reminiscing, & Rambling. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

