Microwave-Cleaning Shortcut: Vinegar & Water

We’ve been moving this weekend and I haven’t had time to post anything profound, but my friend Sarah Grace suggested that I post this tip (which I got from my friend Kate).

To clean dried-up stuff out of your microwave, put 1-2 cups of vinegar and water (about half vinegar and half water, but this isn’t a precise science) into a bowl or a glass measuring cup, and heat it in the microwave until it’s boiling merrily (about 3-5 minutes).  The steam will loosen up all that nasty dried gunk and make it much easier to wipe out.

I’ll post again once I’m out of the jungle of boxes! In the meantime, anyone have any unusual household cleaning tips to share?

About Charity

I have an inexcusable number of cookbooks (and like to experiment with them), have worked in architectural antiques, and have been sewing most of my life. I hold a Bachelor of Science in Textiles & Apparel and Fashion Merchandising from Lipscomb University, and I am currently pursuing my M.S. in Historic/Cultural Dress and Textiles at the University of Georgia. Doing household things (except for cleaning!) and hunting for antiques are my favorite pastimes.
This entry was posted in Cleaning Tips & Tricks, In the Kitchen, Kitchen Tips & Gadgets, Mrs. Everett's Household Guide. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Microwave-Cleaning Shortcut: Vinegar & Water

  1. Jade says:

    Mom taught me that if you have a need to clean the cooking surface of your outdoor grill, take it out of the grill and lay it in the grass overnight; in the morning, when they still have dew on them, go out and wipe them down. I don’t know what it is about overnighting with dew, but it seems to make things much easier than traditional cleaning methods. And rather less harsh than most cleaning chemicals.

Leave a Reply

