Cream Cheese Pie

Cream Cheese PieThis is an unusual little recipe from a lady at Woodbury church of Christ, and has been a favorite in my family for many years now.  I impulsively decided to make it on Sunday night after church. And I was hungry and didn’t take the time to arrange it nicely, so it’s not as pretty here as it could be. But it tastes good.

Prep Time: 10 min. (assuming your Cool Whip has been thawed to a workable state)
Bake Time: None.
Makes: 2 pies.

Ingredients

  • 2 graham cracker crusts (if you’re industrious, make your own; I cheat and use Kroger brand)
  • 1 8-oz. pkg. cream cheese, softened
  • 1/3 c. sugar
  • 8 oz. sour cream (half a pint)
  • 8-12 oz. Cool Whip, depending on what you have on hand (I used 8 oz., but I think it would have looked nicer with 12)
  • Food coloring (optional)

 Directions

Blend cream cheese and sugar; add sour cream and mix well; fold in Cool Whip.  If desired, add some food coloring for a festive look (we were always partial to purple or turquoise when we were little).  Plop into a pair of graham cracker crusts; chill until ready to serve. Lick your beaters and spatula.  Now, can it get any easier than that?

About Charity

I have an inexcusable number of cookbooks (and like to experiment with them), have worked in architectural antiques, and have been sewing most of my life. I hold a Bachelor of Science in Textiles & Apparel and Fashion Merchandising from Lipscomb University, and I am currently pursuing my M.S. in Historic/Cultural Dress and Textiles at the University of Georgia. Doing household things (except for cleaning!) and hunting for antiques are my favorite pastimes.
This entry was posted in Desserts, In the Kitchen. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

