Old-Fashioned Gravy

Jonathan has decreed that pot roast shall never be made anymore in our home without gravy.  So, to accompany the pot roast recipe, here’s your gravy (shown in the pan because my poor gravy boat is lost in a stack of boxes):

Prep Time: 15-ish minutes
Makes: Approx. 1 cup

Ingredients

  • 2 Tbsp. butter
  • 2 Tbsp. flour
  •  1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1 cup drippings and milk (if you run out of drippings, just fill it the rest of the way with milk. Otherwise, you can do it about 2/3 drippings, or use all drippings and no milk at all)

Directions

Start your butter melting in a pan over medium heat.  Take your roast (or meatloaf, or whatever) out of the oven.  (Now you may take this opportunity to raise your oven temperature and put in your biscuits — or your Pillsbury crescent rolls.)

Ladle your drippings into a measuring cup and add milk as desired.

Don’t worry, it will look better once you’re finished.

Now that your butter is melted, whisk in your flour and salt.  Whisk well.

Add your liquid all at once.

 Keep stirring over medium heat until it starts to thicken.  (You don’t have to stir constantly, but pretty close to it or it may stick!)

Once it’s thickened, turn it to low heat and leave it, stirring occasionally, until you’re ready to serve.  If it thickens too much, add a little milk until you’re happy with the consistency.

(This recipe also makes a fabulous cheese sauce for broccoli — just replace the drippings with 1 c. milk, and add about 1 c. shredded cheddar cheese.)

About Charity

I have an inexcusable number of cookbooks (and like to experiment with them), have worked in architectural antiques, and have been sewing most of my life. I hold a Bachelor of Science in Textiles & Apparel and Fashion Merchandising from Lipscomb University, and I am currently pursuing my M.S. in Historic/Cultural Dress and Textiles at the University of Georgia. Doing household things (except for cleaning!) and hunting for antiques are my favorite pastimes.
This entry was posted in Other Recipes, Side Dishes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Old-Fashioned Gravy

  1. Tiffany says:

    I’m glad you posted this. When I was growing up, I refused to learn how to make roast (and most other meats too really), so I never touched brown gravy either. Now that I’m grown and brave enough to touch meat, my mom often refuses to tell me how she does things, probably so I still need her for something. I’ve been trying to get this out of her for a while now, so I appreciate this post quite a bit. I may try this out in the next week or two.

Leave a Reply

