Sunday Pot Roast

This is one of my favorite Sunday dinners, and it’s absurdly simple to make. You can do it with either beef roast (pictured here is a chuck roast) or pork roast (which is Jonathan’s favorite).

I like to put it all together on Saturday night, stumble out of bed very early Sunday morning to pop it in the oven, go back to sleep until time for church, and come home to find a finished meal.  If you prefer, you can put it in the crockpot for about ten hours (I’ve never done it in the crockpot, but that’s how my friend Julia does it).

Prep Time: 20 min.
Bake Time: 5 hr. (give or take)
Serves: Depends on your roast (I hate to sound like my great-grandmother’s chili recipe, but…..)

 Ingredients

  • Roast of your choice (pork or beef)
  • 1 envelope Lipton onion soup mix (found near the canned soup, on the top shelf at my Kroger)
  • Potatoes
  • Carrots
  • Celery (optional)

Directions

Peel your potatoes and carrots and cut them into serving-size pieces.  I like to cut the potatoes in halves or thirds, but you don’t have to cut them at all.  (They’ll cook all the way.) Chop celery, if you’re using it.  Put the roast into one of the following containers:

  • Very large Corning Ware
  • Enamelware pan
  • Dutch oven

(Which one I use depends on the size of my roast.)  Arrange vegetables around the roast.  If you’re industrious, cut slits in the roast (if not, it’ll be just fine).  Sprinkle onion soup mix all over the roast (and down into the slits if you have them).  Add water, enough to almost cover the veggies (or cover the veggies — it really doesn’t matter).  Cover the roast with your lid or securely with aluminum foil.  Bake at 250 for 5 hours.

This is excellent with gravy, but if you use some kind of mix, I’ll hunt you down. I’ve posted a very easy, classic gravy recipe for you.

If you want to make it ahead, you have two options:

  1. Put it all together and leave it in the fridge overnight — your potatoes may turn grayish from exposure to air, but it doesn’t hurt anything.
  2. Cut the potatoes and carrots and submerge them in a bowl of water — the potatoes will retain their normal color (lack of color?) until you’re ready to put them in the pan.
About Charity

I have an inexcusable number of cookbooks (and like to experiment with them), have worked in architectural antiques, and have been sewing most of my life. I hold a Bachelor of Science in Textiles & Apparel and Fashion Merchandising from Lipscomb University, and I am currently pursuing my M.S. in Historic/Cultural Dress and Textiles at the University of Georgia. Doing household things (except for cleaning!) and hunting for antiques are my favorite pastimes.
This entry was posted in In the Kitchen, Main Dishes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sunday Pot Roast

  1. Jenny says:

    I guess you were never up early enough to watch me actually fix it. 🙂 I combine the water and onion soup mix and pour over everything. But obviously it doesn’t really matter.

Leave a Reply

