My Favorite Cookie Sheet

This is my favorite cookie sheet.  I searched long and hard to find it.  Everything, everywhere, was that crappy nonstick stuff that burns your biscuits.  Yes, I know that you can set the oven temperature 25 degrees lower and it won’t usually burn, but that just wasn’t working well for me.  The biscuits didn’t like it.  And I like having the ability to attack my cookware with a scouring pad (which is why my vintage Revere Ware is the love of my life). This is not an option with nonstick.

So, when I was stuck at Wal-Mart having my oil changed (I betcha anything that the 1.5-hour wait is planned so you have to shop!), I ran across this little beauty.  It’s classic. It’s NOT nonstick. And it doesn’t warp in the oven at 400 degrees (which my expensive pans from Dillard’s did).  I bought it.  And it was perfect. And then I went on Amazon and bought the larger version. And I wanted two of them, and another little one, but Jonathan said that I needed to be reasonable.

Anyway, if any of you are suffering from crappy cookie sheets, go to Amazon or Wal-Mart and get a Nordic Ware cookie sheet.  (And, just for the record, neither Amazon, nor Wal-Mart, nor Nordic Ware have ever heard of me or my blog.)

About Charity

I have an inexcusable number of cookbooks (and like to experiment with them), have worked in architectural antiques, and have been sewing most of my life. I hold a Bachelor of Science in Textiles & Apparel and Fashion Merchandising from Lipscomb University, and I am currently pursuing my M.S. in Historic/Cultural Dress and Textiles at the University of Georgia. Doing household things (except for cleaning!) and hunting for antiques are my favorite pastimes.
This entry was posted in Appetizers & Snacks, In the Kitchen, Kitchen Tips & Gadgets. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Favorite Cookie Sheet

  1. Tiffany says:

    I had no idea those non-stick pans were causing the burned bottoms on my biscuits! Over the past few months, I’ve been racing myself to see how fast I could take the biscuits off the pan without burning myself (because I’m not about to dirty up any tongs when my hands are clean). I’m going to look for these.

    I did buy some EXTREMELY cheap (read: awful, not inexpensive) Mainstay regular non-nonstick cookie sheets from Walmart recently. I used the cookie sheet, set it in the sink until after-dinner cleanup, and when I came back an hour or so later, the part that was touching the sink had rusted and stained my sink. Those cookie sheets scare me, and I’m now using them to catch the water under my potted plants.

    Wow this was a long comment.

  2. Charity says:

    Yep, they’re dreadful! 🙂 I had a nonstick one rust on me when I first got married. I kept using it for a while, but that meant I had to cover it with aluminum foil every single time. And that just gets expensive.

    I think the cookie sheets that caused a Christmas cookie disaster years ago at my parents’ house were the Mainstay brand. They burnt every last peanut blossom cookie. About ten years later, you can still see the shadow of twelve little peanut blossoms on each of those cookie sheets (my mom still uses them, but ALWAYS with aluminum foil!).

Leave a Reply

