If You Can’t Seem to Get It All Done

Last night, I was discouraged. I had planned to spend the day ridding the house of those accursed boxes, and I went to bed without a single box unpacked.  I was grumping about it, and Jonathan informed me that, despite what I thought, I had indeed accomplished quite a bit. So we started counting up what I had done.  And here’s what we listed:

  • Clipped the coupons and put them in the organizer
  • Went to Sally Beauty Supply and bought those little clips for pin curls
  • Went to Kroger and got home before 11:00, with ten free boxes of pasta (thanks to the sale and the coupon — there’s the link if you want free pasta this week)
  • Made blueberry muffins (recipe coming soon!)
  • Went to Wal-Mart to buy little organizer baskets and a towel rack
  • Put up the spices (so although I didn’t unpack a box, I did unpack the tote bag full of spices!)
  • Assembled a seven-piece over-the-door towel rack
  • Moved a bookshelf into the bedroom
  • Edited about 75 pictures and uploaded them to Snapfish.com and Facebook (which reminds me, I need to order the prints!)
  • Made ham and “smashed potatoes” and peas for supper, and had it almost totally ready when Jonathan got home
  • Did the dishes
  • Visited with my sister
  • Read a chapter of Sherlock Holmes (it’s good for the mind, right?)
  • Took a (too-long) nap (yes, I’m listing a nap — it re-energizes me so I can get more done!)

So next time you think you didn’t get anything done, sit down and make a list!  It just might make you feel better.

About Charity

I have an inexcusable number of cookbooks (and like to experiment with them), have worked in architectural antiques, and have been sewing most of my life. I hold a Bachelor of Science in Textiles & Apparel and Fashion Merchandising from Lipscomb University, and I am currently pursuing my M.S. in Historic/Cultural Dress and Textiles at the University of Georgia. Doing household things (except for cleaning!) and hunting for antiques are my favorite pastimes.
This entry was posted in Ruminating, Reminiscing, & Rambling. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to If You Can’t Seem to Get It All Done

  1. Jenny Calvin says:

    Didn’t you know, all those years, that that’s where much of my to-do list came from? 🙂 If you can’t do what’s on your list, then list what you do (and then cross it off).

Leave a Reply

