Blueberry Muffins

Blueberry Muffins

Many years ago, I stole this recipe from the side of a Bisquick box (I think it was one of the first things I cooked by myself).  I’m all about using real ingredients and making things from scratch, but let’s face it: When you wake up in the morning and you want breakfast, you don’t want to spend an hour making muffins (or at least I don’t!). So we’ll be realistic and use the Bisquick.  It’s amazingly tasty, and you don’t have to tell anyone what you did.

Blueberry Muffins

Prep Time: 10 min.
Bake Time: 18 min.
Makes: 12

Ingredients

  • 2 c. Bisquick
  • 2/3 c. milk
  • 1/3 c. sugar
  • 2 Tbsp. vegetable oil
  • 1 egg
  • 3/4 c. blueberries (fresh or frozen, thawed) — I like a generous 3/4 cup.  I like it “berry” generous. Haha.

Directions

Preheat oven to 400 degrees (375 if you’re using a nonstick pan). Grease bottoms only of muffin cups (or use those little paper liners).  Stir together all ingredients except blueberries until just moistened (stir too much, and you’ll have flat little muffins).  Gently stir in blueberries (and try not to eat all of them right now).  Divide batter evenly among cups.

Bake 13-18 min. or until golden brown.  (Be sure to butter immediately! And use real butter, of course, or you’re in trouble with me.)

Note — It’s not kidding when it says to make sure the blueberries are thawed. If they’re still frozen and you try to use them, you’ll have little raw spots inside your muffins where the cold blueberries kept them from baking.

About Charity

I have an inexcusable number of cookbooks (and like to experiment with them), have worked in architectural antiques, and have been sewing most of my life. I hold a Bachelor of Science in Textiles & Apparel and Fashion Merchandising from Lipscomb University, and I am currently pursuing my M.S. in Historic/Cultural Dress and Textiles at the University of Georgia. Doing household things (except for cleaning!) and hunting for antiques are my favorite pastimes.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, In the Kitchen. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blueberry Muffins

  1. Granny Janice says:

    Charity, I wanted to let you know that we’ve had an Email address change. It’s rat@lighttube.net , also I wanted to tell you I really enjoy your recipes , tips on house keeping, the ladies workbasket and much more. I just enjoy it, so keep up the good work.

  2. This makes me even more anxious for blueberry season!

Leave a Reply

