Rotini Calvini

Jonathan and I went on a date Friday night to see the new X-Men movie. I was quite excited about it. So I went home as soon as I got off work, and put a pot of water on the stove to boil while I took a shower. And then I ran back to the kitchen and put the noodles in the boiling water and thawed the hamburger in the microwave, then blow-dried my hair while the noodles were cooking. Then I ran back to the kitchen again, threw this together, popped it in the oven, and finished my hair and makeup while it was baking. (Whew!) And then, when Jonathan got home from work, I had supper ready.

And here’s what I made.

Rotini Calvini

Prep Time: Approx. 20-30 minutes (assuming that you’re sneaky and have precooked hamburger in your freezer)
Bake Time: 30 minutes (this is flexible)
Serves: 6-ish

Make with: Salad & Easy Cheesy Italian Bread

 

Ingredients (please keep in mind that you can tweak these amounts to suit what you have on hand — if you’ve eaten some of your cottage cheese already, don’t worry about it)

  • 1 jar plain spaghetti sauce (although the “fancy” kinds, like six-cheese, work beautifully too)
  • 1 lb. hamburger, cooked
  • 16 oz. cottage cheese
  • 1/2 lb. (half a box) of rotini (or whatever pasta you like)
  • 1 lb. grated mozzarella (the pre-grated from the bag is fine — we’re trying to make it in time for date night here!)
  • Parmesan (optional)
  • Basil (optional)

Cook your noodles according to package directions.  Drain.  In a bowl, mix all ingredients. If desired, you can put half the cheese on top. Put into 9×13 pan and bake, covered, at 350 for about 30 minutes (give or take).  If you like, you can make this the day before and pop it in the fridge, then just bake it when you need it.

My mom’s original recipe called for neither basil nor parmesan, but I just got my new basil plant from the flea market, so I put in 7-8 leaves, chopped. It added a nice touch of color and a little tasty twist. And the parmesan? I had one of those little green jars of the powdered kind, almost empty, so I dumped the rest of it in there to clear it out of the fridge.

And we made it to the movie on time.

About Charity

I have an inexcusable number of cookbooks (and like to experiment with them), have worked in architectural antiques, and have been sewing most of my life. I hold a Bachelor of Science in Textiles & Apparel and Fashion Merchandising from Lipscomb University, and I am currently pursuing my M.S. in Historic/Cultural Dress and Textiles at the University of Georgia. Doing household things (except for cleaning!) and hunting for antiques are my favorite pastimes.
This entry was posted in In the Kitchen, Main Dishes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rotini Calvini

  1. Talk about multi-tasking. This is why I air dry my hair, kidding! I love this recipe, comfort food at its best.

Leave a Reply

