Beef Stroganoff

This is one of my “favoritest” recipes from the Pioneer Cookbook.  It was submitted to the cookbook by Ms. Dorothy Bryant of Clarksville. We don’t know anything else about her, but she has to be a wonderful person for submitting this recipe.  It’s been my favorite since I was, oh, about six years old.  And it was regularly requested for my birthday dinner. So, without further ado, here it is.

First you chop your round steak into thin strips.  It’s a little easier if it’s a little frozen, so either pop it in the freezer for a bit beforehand, or (if you’re like me and bought it on Manager’s Special…um…last year) just thaw it mostly. I was impatient and thawed mine in the microwave, but it didn’t hurt anything.  If you have two packages, cut them both up and freeze the one so that it’s painless next time.

It takes a while. But it’s worth it. I could never, ever be a vegetarian.

Melt your butter in the pan, add some (frozen) chopped onion and either real garlic or dried minced garlic. Either is good. This is a very kind and forgiving recipe.

Brown it. Your kitchen now smells heavenly.  Then you’ll add that classic staple of Southern cooking…..

Cream of Mushroom Soup. It makes the world go ’round.

Add your soup, water, sour cream, paprika, and seasoning and stir it all up.

Cover it (whether that’s necessary or not, I don’t know, but that’s what my Moomer does) and let it cook on low about 45 minutes, stirring every now and then until it’s done.  In the meantime, make your rice. (If you can’t figure that out on your own, I can’t help you.) Here’s the compact version of the recipe:

Beef Stroganoff

Prep Time: Approx. 20 min.
Cook Time: 45 min.
Serves: 4

Ingredients

  • 1 lb. round steak, cut into thin strips
  • 1/2 c. chopped onion
  • Garlic to taste
  • 2 Tbsp. butter
  • 1 can cream of mushroom soup
  • 1/4 c. water
  • 1/2 c. sour cream
  • 1/2 tsp. paprika
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 2 c. cooked rice (does this mean 2 cups rice, cooked, or two cups of already-cooked rice? I don’t know. I just make rice.)

Directions

Brown the steak, onion, and garlic in the butter (we like the way this begins, don’t we?).  Remove the garlic (I didn’t. Oops).  Stir in the soup, water, sour cream, paprika, salt, and pepper; cover.  Cook over low heat for 45 min. or until the steak is tender, stirring frequently.  Serve over rice.

About Charity

I have an inexcusable number of cookbooks (and like to experiment with them), have worked in architectural antiques, and have been sewing most of my life. I hold a Bachelor of Science in Textiles & Apparel and Fashion Merchandising from Lipscomb University, and I am currently pursuing my M.S. in Historic/Cultural Dress and Textiles at the University of Georgia. Doing household things (except for cleaning!) and hunting for antiques are my favorite pastimes.
This entry was posted in In the Kitchen, Main Dishes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Beef Stroganoff

  1. Jenny says:

    I double the sauce because we like lots!

Leave a Reply

