Oh, the Horror and Woe! Unwelcome Kitchen Discoveries

So, we moved on April 16th. Today, July 9th, I was looking for a glass pitcher that had gone missing in the move. After eliminating every other location that a glass pitcher could possibly be, I determined that it had to be in the top cabinet over the refrigerator. I, being rather”vertically challenged,” am unable to reach this cabinet. And there was a crockpot on top of the fridge, in the way.  So I called my tall and handsome husband to reach it for me.

Unbeknownst to us (or maybe “beknownst” for a few minutes, but immediately forgotten), someone had helpfully packed kitchen things in the crockpot back in April.

Unfortunately, these were not kitchen implements — they were edible things.

WERE edibles.  Some lemons (which, amazingly, still look fine), a loaf of bread (not so fine, unless you like your bread green and furry), and some plastic bag of produce that is now unidentifiable.  I couldn’t bear to look further to see if there was anything else.

So there may be a valid and pressing reason to clean the top of your fridge. You may find something that you’ve been missing…..

And while we’re on the topic of Crockpots, I want to know: If I haven’t used my Crockpot since before November 2009, should I allow it to occupy valuable storage space, or should it pass to my younger brother? Is there any pressing reason that I might need it — some indispensable dish that can’t cook in a Corningware in the oven? I need opinions.

About Charity

I have an inexcusable number of cookbooks (and like to experiment with them), have worked in architectural antiques, and have been sewing most of my life. I hold a Bachelor of Science in Textiles & Apparel and Fashion Merchandising from Lipscomb University, and I am currently pursuing my M.S. in Historic/Cultural Dress and Textiles at the University of Georgia. Doing household things (except for cleaning!) and hunting for antiques are my favorite pastimes.
This entry was posted in Ruminating, Reminiscing, & Rambling. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Oh, the Horror and Woe! Unwelcome Kitchen Discoveries

  1. Jenny says:

    Did you find the glass pitcher?

  2. Charity says:

    Oh. Yes. It was behind the crockpot. But we forgot all about that in all the excitement.

  3. Kelli says:

    If you really don’t use the crockpot and have no plans to start, then get rid of it. Your brother may like to use it though. As a student, I find that it’s useful to make one big batch of a dish that I can take to school/work throughout the week so that I’m not stuck eating sandwiches or cooking in the evenings when I need to study. For example, I make yogurt in it every two weeks [it’s simply cheaper given the amount of yogurt, cream cheese, and sour cream I go through]. Year round, I use it to cook beans since dry beans are cheaper than canned, and I don’t like to fool with cooking them on the stove. In the winter, I make oatmeal in it for two weeks’ worth of breakfasts and soup for a week’s worth of lunches.

Leave a Reply

