Lemon Bay Scallops

I decided to try this recipe from….the back of the bag of frozen scallops from Kroger.  It just looked appealing, and looked like a nice little quick thing to cook on Sunday after church. And it was.

Lemon Bay Scallops with PastaI didn’t have any tomatoes, so I made do without and added some paprika for color.  And I couldn’t resist adding some of my new flea market parsley for some additional flair.

This is easy to make, has a subtle and delicate flavor, and looks quite fancy (at least compared to, say, chicken casserole). While it didn’t make the top five favorites, Jonathan voted that we make it again sometime.

Here’s the recipe:

Lemon Bay Scallops

Prep Time: 10 minutes (minus thawing time for scallops and cooking time for spaghetti)
Bake Time: 7-9 minutes
Serves: 2

Ingredients

  • 1 12-oz package frozen bay scallops, thawed
  • Juice from 1/2 lemon
  • 1 Tbsp. white wine
  • 2 Tbsp. (1/4 stick) cold butter, chopped into pieces
  • 1 tomato, chopped
  • Basil leaves, chopped (recipe calls for 1-2 sprigs fresh basil)
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/2 package spaghetti, cooked (I used angel hair)

Directions

Preheat oven to 350. Thaw scallops and pat dry with a paper towel. Place scallops on foil. Sprinkle on lemon, butter, wine, salt, and pepper. Bake until scallops are opaque white on the inside (approx. 7-9 min.). Toss with tomatoes and basil and serve over spaghetti (or you can do as I did and toss it all with the spaghetti instead).

I added some parsley, both chopped and as decoration, and paprika, since I thought it just needed some color (as I had no tomatoes on hand).  I also concluded that it could probably benefit from a wee bit of garlic.

You can also stretch it a little further with more spaghetti — it was good for the two of us, but there were a generous number of scallops in there, and it could be good for at least one more serving with the addition of more spaghetti.

About Charity

I have an inexcusable number of cookbooks (and like to experiment with them), have worked in architectural antiques, and have been sewing most of my life. I hold a Bachelor of Science in Textiles & Apparel and Fashion Merchandising from Lipscomb University, and I am currently pursuing my M.S. in Historic/Cultural Dress and Textiles at the University of Georgia. Doing household things (except for cleaning!) and hunting for antiques are my favorite pastimes.
This entry was posted in In the Kitchen, Main Dishes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

