Vintage Double Cola Tray as CD Holder, and DVD Organization Tip

I know that, in this enlightened age, most people have their music on their iPod and have gotten rid of their CDs.  For those of us clinging to the older ways, however, here’s my latest storage idea.

It all started with this blog post I came across the other day. (I needed to clean the house, and somehow rationalized that reading about organization online would serve my purposes. Am I the only one who does that sort of thing?)  She had used a vintage Coca-Cola tray to store her smaller games (cards, Farkle, et cetera). And I thought, “Hey! I think I had one of those trays from my great-grandparents’ barn. I’ll call my mom and see if she’ll let me have it.”

So I called up the Moomer, and she did indeed still have it.  The poor artifact was stashed in the workshop and had found a new life as a dirt-dauber apartment complex.  Moomer knocked out all the nests and brought it to me yesterday.  Tonight I spent a lot of time and a lot of wet paper towels getting the tray (mostly) clean.  I was about to stash my little games in it, when I had a brilliant flash of inspiration.

And yes — the CD collection did fit. It fit perfectly. It was like the tray was made for them — just enough room that they weren’t too tight height-wise, but not any wasted space.

And it was just perfect on top of the bookshelf. And has handles, so it’s grab-able.  (When you’re petite like me, you have to think of these things.)

I feel that it adds a certain flair to the bookshelf.  (I may be crazy, but hey, I like it.) At any rate, it’s a handy way to store the homeless CDs. And it’s a bit of a family heirloom that now has a safe home.

And here’s another random organizing tip for you: If you organize your DVDs by color, it makes the shelf look somewhat less cluttered (see the top shelf in the photos).  Try it and see what you think.

I once informed the Moomer that I can summarize the difference between us in this way: She alphabetizes her movies, and I sort mine by color. She has an English degree; I have a fashion degree. (Go figure.)

About Charity

I have an inexcusable number of cookbooks (and like to experiment with them), have worked in architectural antiques, and have been sewing most of my life. I hold a Bachelor of Science in Textiles & Apparel and Fashion Merchandising from Lipscomb University, and I am currently pursuing my M.S. in Historic/Cultural Dress and Textiles at the University of Georgia. Doing household things (except for cleaning!) and hunting for antiques are my favorite pastimes.
This entry was posted in Antiquing Adventures, Decorating, Mrs. Everett's Household Guide, Organization. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Vintage Double Cola Tray as CD Holder, and DVD Organization Tip

  1. Jenny says:

    I have no idea what color my dvd’s are, but I can usually remember the name of the one I’m looking for. Yours may look prettier, but my way is more functional. 🙂

  2. Jade says:

    Hey! That wasn’t there before. You must’ve rearranged!! Can’t wait to see 🙂

Leave a Reply

