Cleaning: Do What You Feel Like Doing

I needed to clean the living room. It had reached an embarrassing state, really.

I didn’t.

Because I didn’t want to.

I knew I had to clean something, but I just couldn’t make myself go into the living room and start cleaning. It was overwhelming. So I decreed that I would put up all the clothes in the bedroom. I had them all folded in the laundry basket, but for some reason, I can never force myself to put them promptly into the drawers. (I’m a terrible housekeeper like that.) But I did put up all the clothes, and the results were so encouraging that I put up the blankets as well. And I tidied my little computer desk here. And I hung up my earrings that were left forlorn on the dresser. And I put up all the shoes. And before I knew it, the bedroom was all tidy. And I feel much better now.

The nice, clean kitchen fell to pieces in the meantime, but — maybe because the clean bedroom was so encouraging — Jonathan cleaned the kitchen again on his day off yesterday.

So, next time you feel like you NEED to clean a particular room, but you don’t want to, just go with your gut and clean what you want to clean. You might end up with a clean kitchen thrown in for free.

And if you want to just sit on the couch with your little sister and watch a movie and eat Chocolate Lush, that’s okay too. You can always clean tomorrow.

About Charity

I have an inexcusable number of cookbooks (and like to experiment with them), have worked in architectural antiques, and have been sewing most of my life. I hold a Bachelor of Science in Textiles & Apparel and Fashion Merchandising from Lipscomb University, and I am currently pursuing my M.S. in Historic/Cultural Dress and Textiles at the University of Georgia. Doing household things (except for cleaning!) and hunting for antiques are my favorite pastimes.
This entry was posted in Cleaning Tips & Tricks, Mrs. Everett's Household Guide. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

