Southern Style Chicken Salad

I up-and-decided to make chicken salad the other day.  I had never done it before. And I hate the kind of chicken salad that has grapes in it (that’s like dessert chicken or something).  So if you also like yours without grapes, here’s the recipe I came up with, with help from my darling Stuffed Goose Cookbook.

Southern Chicken Salad

  • 4 chicken breasts
  • 1/2 c. mayonnaise
  • 1/2 c. Miracle Whip
  • Several spoonfuls of relish (most recipes call for celery, but relish is easier to keep on hand and doesn’t have to be chopped)
  • A little splash of vinegar (or lemon juice, or lime juice)
  • 1-2 eggs, hard boiled, peeled, and chopped
  • Croissants (optional)

Boil the chicken and shred it.  In a bowl, mix mayo, Miracle Whip, relish, and vinegar (you can add that directly into the chicken, like I did tonight, but it’s hard to stir).  Stir mixture into chicken; add eggs.  Taste; add more vinegar or relish if necessary. Refrigerate. Serves 6-ish as sandwiches.

I like this best served on croissants. And it’s killing me that I don’t have any croissants for the lovely chicken salad that I just popped into my fridge. But it’ll be tasty anyway!

About Charity

I have an inexcusable number of cookbooks (and like to experiment with them), have worked in architectural antiques, and have been sewing most of my life. I hold a Bachelor of Science in Textiles & Apparel and Fashion Merchandising from Lipscomb University, and I am currently pursuing my M.S. in Historic/Cultural Dress and Textiles at the University of Georgia. Doing household things (except for cleaning!) and hunting for antiques are my favorite pastimes.
This entry was posted in In the Kitchen, Main Dishes, Other Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

