Begone, Bedraggled Teflon Pan!

My Teflon pan — I think it may have been the second one since Jonathan and I got married in 2009 — bit the dust a few weeks ago.  I was observing black flecks in my delicious melting butter, and thinking, “Hey, this black stuff can’t really be good for you.”  And I was tired of throwing those skillets away. I’m not a green freak or anything (I probably should be), but I’m a diehard cheapskate and this just hurt me, to throw away a pan.  So, after much deliberation, trepidation, and rumination, I declared that this was the END, and I went to Amazon.com and ordered a 15″ Lodge cast iron skillet.

In the immortal words of Toad from Wind in the Willows, “This is the thing! This is the only thing! All those wasted years!”

Here’s the scoop on the iron skillet. Of course, it’s not perfect; nothing is. But it’s pretty close.

Cons and Neutral Statements:

  • The lid from my old skillet doesn’t fit perfectly, but it works well enough that I wasn’t going to shell out an absurd sum of money for a Lodge lid. So keep your old lid.
  • The handle is a little short, which took a wee bit of getting used to. But I promptly got used to it, and it’s not really an issue anymore.
  • Eggs-in-a-basket stuck a little, but not badly enough to destroy the masterpiece that is an egg-in-a-basket. I think they’d be less likely to stick now that I’ve seasoned the skillet a little more.
  • It can’t go in the dishwasher (obviously).
Pros:
  • It can fit three pounds of hamburger at once (one of my priorities).
  • It cooks fast.
  • It won’t fall apart on me like the Teflon one.
  • Classic cookware is every bit as good as classic fashion.
  • It’s nice and heavy (I was afraid this would be a “Con,” but please note its location in the “Pro” section).
  • THE BEST THING?? It was under $20 and had free shipping. For CAST IRON. Oh yeah.  My Teflon cost more than that, even on sale.

Words of Admonition and Instruction:

  • Buy the little handle cover that Lodge makes. It’s nice.
  • Let the skillet heat up before you put anything in it — I hear it reduces sticking.
  • Use those little potholders that you made when you were ten.  They’re easy to grab and work great with the handle.
  • To clean, spray it out with hot water, scrub a bit with a little nylon scrubber brush from Wal-Mart (quite cheap), dry it with a paper towel, and spritz it with Pam before putting it up.
  • Don’t use dish detergent.
  • Don’t let this gross you out.  The scrubber brush and hot water really do get it clean.
  • Go ye forth and buy the little mini grilled cheese skillet, too. It’s precious. And oh-so-useful.
About Charity

I have an inexcusable number of cookbooks (and like to experiment with them), have worked in architectural antiques, and have been sewing most of my life. I hold a Bachelor of Science in Textiles & Apparel and Fashion Merchandising from Lipscomb University, and I am currently pursuing my M.S. in Historic/Cultural Dress and Textiles at the University of Georgia. Doing household things (except for cleaning!) and hunting for antiques are my favorite pastimes.
This entry was posted in In the Kitchen, Kitchen Tips & Gadgets, Money-Saving Tips, Mrs. Everett's Household Guide. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Begone, Bedraggled Teflon Pan!

  1. laurengracie says:

    I’m pretty sure we were the only ones who made pot holders when we were ten years old.

  2. I was blessed to have an aunt who gifted me pre-seasoned cast iron skillets in a variety of sizes. And by pre-seasoned, I don’t mean purchased that way. I mean she cooked with them a few times and broke them in. I want to be that sort of aunt to Emma some day. P.S. We are cheap and started using the cast iron skillet to sear then bake steaks rather than use tons of charcoal for just two steaks. It works nicely. 🙂

Leave a Reply

