The Eagle Doorknob Origins

Mallory, Wheeler, & Co. eagle doorknob, 1882Some of you may remember my insane excitement over the eagle doorknob that my friend Mr. Fie gave me.  I’m in love with this doorknob.  My sister says I’ve proudly shown it to her three times.  But I couldn’t figure out who had made it — it doesn’t appear to be for sale anywhere online right now, so I couldn’t even figure out exactly what it’s worth.

Any of you doorknob enthusiasts out there will be pleased to know that I accidentally discovered this doorknob in Maude Eastwood’s doorknob book while I was at work on Friday.  This eagle door knob was made by Mallory, Wheeler, & Co., and was in the 1882 catalog. And I have what I think is the exterior version of this knob.

Quick antique doorknob lesson: How do we know it’s an entrance doorknob? Almost any 2 1/2″ diameter doorknob was an exterior knob — the average interior doorknob is 2″ or 2 1/4″ in diameter. Exterior knobs are usually worth a little more than interior ones.  Why? Think about how many interior doorknobs you have. And how many front doors? Yep. Do the math. There are a lot fewer of them out there.

Oh, and I joined the Antique Doorknob Collectors of America last month.  According to the membership list they sent me, there are approximately 190 members.  My little sister despairs and tells me that I’m too nerdy (yes, Lauren, I love you too).  Be that as it may, I now have some justification for buying antique door hardware that I have no intention of using.  (Like I needed another reason.)

About Charity

I have an inexcusable number of cookbooks (and like to experiment with them), have worked in architectural antiques, and have been sewing most of my life. I hold a Bachelor of Science in Textiles & Apparel and Fashion Merchandising from Lipscomb University, and I am currently pursuing my M.S. in Historic/Cultural Dress and Textiles at the University of Georgia. Doing household things (except for cleaning!) and hunting for antiques are my favorite pastimes.
This entry was posted in Antiquing Adventures. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

