How (Not) to Enter a Photo Contest, or Life Lessons from Cat Pictures

Spying on the neighbors, camouflaged by parsley, and convinced that he's Jimmy Stewart. "He did bury his wife in the garden. I'm sure of it."

There’s this website from which I’m constantly coveting vintage-inspired dresses.

I can’t afford them reasonably (not when I can sew the same thing for less than half the cost).

And so, when they announced on their Facebook page that they were giving away a $100 gift certificate for the cutest cat picture submitted, I was jumping for joy. Not because I’m an expert photographer, but because I have one of the funniest cats in the world. (Okay, maybe just a little biased here.)

But I had a problem: I couldn’t decide which picture to post. So I polled the relatives. I emailed pictures to my mother, grandmother, aunt, and little sister. I got conflicting answers. I agonized. I took more pictures when Howie decided to raid the Q-Tip jar. And I knew the contest ended tonight.

"I've seen where she gets those things! And my head just might fit! I can have it all!"

So I came in here to make the final decision on the picture.

I went to the Facebook page to upload it.

And . . . the contest ended today at 11:00 a.m. Pacific time.

My pictures were funnier than any of the finalists. And it did me absolutely no good. Because even though I may have had the best pictures, I didn’t make it into the contest.

"I think...maybe...I can flatten my head enough!"

And here’s the moral of the story:

If you don’t make it into the contest to start with, no one gives a flip how good your pictures were. Except, perhaps, your mother. And Howie. He’s always glad to feel like a celebrity. Especially if it means he gets more Q-Tips to drown in his water bowl.

About Charity

I have an inexcusable number of cookbooks (and like to experiment with them), have worked in architectural antiques, and have been sewing most of my life. I hold a Bachelor of Science in Textiles & Apparel and Fashion Merchandising from Lipscomb University, and I am currently pursuing my M.S. in Historic/Cultural Dress and Textiles at the University of Georgia. Doing household things (except for cleaning!) and hunting for antiques are my favorite pastimes.
This entry was posted in Ruminating, Reminiscing, & Rambling. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How (Not) to Enter a Photo Contest, or Life Lessons from Cat Pictures

  1. Jenny says:

    Poor Howie! His chance for fame is drowned like one of his Q-tips.

Leave a Reply

