“Personal Security Advice for Domestic Kittens” — Or, Free Locksmith Advice from an Excellent Locksmith

Daddy and Lauren at the church ice cream supper back home.

My dad has a blog. Well, he’s actually got two blogs, as you’ll see if you visit his site, but….well….I can only really recommend the A-Best Locksmith Blog. If you know my father, you understand. He has a bizarre sense of humor.

His locksmithing skills, however, are quite a bit more reliable than his jokes.  He’s been a locksmith for many years now. (I handle the antique side of door hardware, he takes care of the modern ones, and we’re all happy.)

Daddy advises that (and I quote directly from his post on my facebook wall) “all domestic kittens such as yourself need security advice.” I agree. So, although it may seem only loosely related to Daring Domesticity, here’s his blog. A lot of it is commercial door and lock info, but he has a lot of useful advice for normal people as well.

Now I’ll embarrass him.

He’s come a long way from the time he called my mother when he got stranded many years ago — “Jenny, you need to come get me. I locked myself out of the car.

“You’re a locksmith,” my mother replied, “You can open the car yourself.”

“But I locked my tools in the trunk.”

She had to go rescue him.

None of us has ever let him forget it.

That’s all, folks!

About Charity

I have an inexcusable number of cookbooks (and like to experiment with them), have worked in architectural antiques, and have been sewing most of my life. I hold a Bachelor of Science in Textiles & Apparel and Fashion Merchandising from Lipscomb University, and I am currently pursuing my M.S. in Historic/Cultural Dress and Textiles at the University of Georgia. Doing household things (except for cleaning!) and hunting for antiques are my favorite pastimes.
This entry was posted in How-To, Mrs. Everett's Household Guide. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

