Miss Bobo’s Fancy Chicken (A Great Recipe for Pyromaniacs)

This delightful recipe is from Miss Mary Bobo’s Boarding House Cookbook. Miss Bobo’s was a boarding house in Lynchburg, near my hometown, and is now owned by Jack Daniel’s. (When you read the cookbook, you can definitely tell that it’s owned by Jack Daniel’s. I think half the recipes require Jack Daniel’s.) Jonathan and I had a grand time setting this recipe on fire tonight, and it was rated a 9.5 out of 10 (Jonathan refuses to give anything a solid 10, but I’ll round up and call it a 10).

A while back, I marked all the recipes I wanted to try from this cookbook.  Then yesterday, I went back and marked more.  The cookbook now strongly resembles some kind of advertisement for Post-It flags. (Go and buy the cookbook.)

I wish I had pictures of the flames shooting up out of my iron skillet, but my camera battery died. That just means that we’ll have to do it again sometime.

Fancy Chicken

Serves 4.

  • 1 2 1/2 to 3 lb. chicken, cut into pieces (or 4 chicken breasts)
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 2 Tbsp. butter
  • 2 Tbsp. vegetable oil
  • 1/2 c. Jack Daniel’s whiskey
  • 6 shallots, chopped (or one onion, chopped)
  • 1/4 tsp. powdered thyme
  • 1/4 c. fresh minced parsley
  • 1/4 c. water
  • 1 c. heavy cream

Sprinkle the chicken with salt and pepper [I skipped that part and everyone was fine].  In a large skillet, heat the butter and oil; brown the chicken pieces on both sides. Add the Jack Daniel’s and carefully ignite [carefully??], shaking the skillet until the flames go out [or until your husband blows it out like a birthday cake]. Add the shallots/onions and cook for one minute.  Add thyme, parsley, and water; cover the skillet and cook over low heat, turning occasionally, for 25-35 minutes.  Transfer the chicken to a warm platter.  Add the cream to the skillet and simmer, stirring until the sauce thickens [ours never really did. We ate it anyway because we were tired of stirring].  Serve the sauce over the chicken.

About Charity

I have an inexcusable number of cookbooks (and like to experiment with them), have worked in architectural antiques, and have been sewing most of my life. I hold a Bachelor of Science in Textiles & Apparel and Fashion Merchandising from Lipscomb University, and I am currently pursuing my M.S. in Historic/Cultural Dress and Textiles at the University of Georgia. Doing household things (except for cleaning!) and hunting for antiques are my favorite pastimes.
This entry was posted in In the Kitchen, Main Dishes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

