Decluttering Marathon!

I’ve been on a decluttering marathon lately. It’s been fun, actually. This is the most recent pile of stuff I got rid of (which, among other things, consisted of about half my wardrobe). Most of it went to the thrift store; a select portion went on eBay (and I’ve sold eight of ten listings on the first try!).

It was partly my sister’s fault, that I’m getting rid of this. We were talking about things we have that we wish we could get rid of (she, more than I, tends to keep things out of guilt — like, if it’s a present, she’ll keep it at least three years). The rubber stamps were one thing that came up.  She has a box full, and I had a drawer full, and we hadn’t even looked at them in probably four years. So I put mine on eBay and all but one solitary stamp sold. So someone else was made very happy by some new rubber stamps, and I (or Jonathan) was made very happy by a new empty drawer in our (Jonathan’s) desk.

The clothes were kinda fun, too. I bribed my sister with food (she’s a college student, you see), and plunked her down in my room, and we took an hour and a half and I brought out every item in my closet and cedar chest. Anything that was “well, it’s okay….” went.  And it’s so much easier to find things now — I came across some clothes that I had totally forgotten existed. It was like going shopping without spending money!

My poor printer, which I bought in 2006 when I was a college freshman, was one of the things to go (it’s sitting by the door waiting to be taken to the thrift store, but that counts for me). It was clogged, I think, and using up ink cartridges like they were goin’ out of style.  It really wasn’t worth fixing. So I decluttered to buy a new one. I had an unopened item that was a duplicate of something I already had, so it went back to Wal-Mart to finance the printer purchase. I found the printer I wanted $7 cheaper online, so I printed that out and took it with me too so Wal-Mart could match the price.  In the end, I paid $12 out-of-pocket for a wireless printer. Wireless, so Jonathan no longer has to email documents to me to print. I no longer trip over the cord of the printer (which previously had to sit on the floor next to my computer). And everyone wins.

The kitchen is next. I’ve already put my over-the-sink strainer in the pile (a great item, but too hard to clean), and two vintage stainless steel pans (since I have now discovered that an iron skillet works for everything under the sun). I’m also donating some poor oddball glasses to my brother (Julian, you need to come get those). And the plastic cups that I somehow got a million of from Lipscomb — I like my vintage Wexford glasses better, so why use the plastic?

But I have serious mixing bowl issues. I love mixing bowls. I don’t want to tell you how many I have.

Or should I?

Let’s put it this way: I have my heavy porcelain set that I love (but one’s gone, broken by accident). And my melamine Williams-Sonoma ones that I use daily. And the two little bitty vintage mismatched ones that Jonathan uses for oatmeal. And my enameled Blue Willow ones (that can’t go in the microwave). And my two Pampered Chef ones with lids. And my couple of glass ones from college. Oh, and some metal ones (including the one that’s my biggest mixing bowl and is a must-have for hashbrown casserole). I think I have serious problems. What should I keep, and what should go?  The Pampered Chefs are portable. The metal ones are indestructible. The Williams-Sonomas are handy. The porcelain is fantastic. And the Blue Willow is pretty and matches my dishes (but I really never use those, even though they have lids). And the glass ones have stayed with me for a long time.

My question now is this: How many mixing bowls constitutes too many? And which ones should depart to greener pastures?

About Charity

I have an inexcusable number of cookbooks (and like to experiment with them), have worked in architectural antiques, and have been sewing most of my life. I hold a Bachelor of Science in Textiles & Apparel and Fashion Merchandising from Lipscomb University, and I am currently pursuing my M.S. in Historic/Cultural Dress and Textiles at the University of Georgia. Doing household things (except for cleaning!) and hunting for antiques are my favorite pastimes.
This entry was posted in Mrs. Everett's Household Guide, Organization. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Decluttering Marathon!

  1. Anne W says:

    Hi there, I found you reently via Pinterest and love your blog. Do you know about Versatsile Blogger Award? I was passed on the award and I have nominated your fabulous blog for the award. If you are interested in it, please visit my blog to see the rules to follow.

    • Charity says:

      Hi Anne,
      Thanks! So glad you’re enjoying the blog. I hadn’t heard of the award — I appreciate your letting me know! I’ve been working on a book on antique hardware, and haven’t had time to post anything lately, but hopefully I’ll be back in action soon. 🙂
      Charity

  2. Patty says:

    You’ve probably already addressed your mixing bowl dilemma, but thought I’d throw my 2 cents in (btw, just found your blog today and I am really enjoying it!) … sounds like the Blue Willow enamel and glass ones can definitely go, and possibly the heavy porcelain ones .. those are the ones that you don’t mention using, just that they are pretty or have had a long time. Keep those you actually use, and let someone else find a use for the pretty ones 🙂 I’m an almost-hoarder, but currently going through hoarding rehab, lol, I need someone to tell me what I can get rid of (like 3/4 of what I own!).

    Patty

    • Charity says:

      Hi Patty,

      Thanks so much for your comment! Glad you’re enjoying the blog.

      I hadn’t thoroughly dealt with it yet. 🙂 I had, however, gotten rid of some of the glass — my husband said, “If you can’t decide the entire thing right now, so what! Just get rid of the ones you KNOW you don’t want, and then at least you’ve made progress.” My perfectionistic self, of course, hadn’t thought of only doing the job halfway. 😛 I’ll take your advice and go put the Blue Willow in the thrift store pile right now — with the extra motivation of our impending move next weekend!

      Charity

Leave a Reply

