Stop Shopping for Your Creativity

I just came across this interesting article shared on (my new favorite blog) unclutterer.com — “Is Consumerism Killing Our Creativity?” I gotta confess, it made me feel sheepish.

When was the last time, thinking you didn’t have time to sew, that you bought another couple yards of fabric or a pattern to console yourself?

Or you bought another cookbook because you’re too tired to cook when you get home from work, and you feel like a better homemaker for having more cookbooks? (When, in reality, you already have a book of fancy French recipes and you’re still eating homemade nachos for supper instead.)

Or you bought another storage box to help you be more organized? (Hint: That doesn’t work. Getting rid of crap is the only thing that really works.)

I don’t know about you, but I’m guilty on all counts.

So there’s just one more incentive to go DO whatever you want to do, instead of buying another book on it or more supplies to do it.  Stop wasting your creativity on shopping, and actually be creative instead.

About Charity

I have an inexcusable number of cookbooks (and like to experiment with them), have worked in architectural antiques, and have been sewing most of my life. I hold a Bachelor of Science in Textiles & Apparel and Fashion Merchandising from Lipscomb University, and I am currently pursuing my M.S. in Historic/Cultural Dress and Textiles at the University of Georgia. Doing household things (except for cleaning!) and hunting for antiques are my favorite pastimes.
This entry was posted in Money-Saving Tips, Mrs. Everett's Household Guide, Ruminating, Reminiscing, & Rambling. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

