Lauren’s 30-Minutes-Till-Company Housecleaning Tactic

Last night Jonathan and I had our Sunday school class over.  I thought, up until the day before, that just a couple people would be coming; and then Saturday, I got quite a few emails from people saying they were coming (which was fine, since it was potluck).  We ended up with, I think, 21 people.

I was able to get (almost) everything cleaned in time. I may have shut the sewing room door and forbidden everyone to go in — since there were four sewing projects, several unpacked boxes, and my entire antique hardware collection spread out all over the floor. But other than that, the house was fairly respectable.

There are some occasions, however, in which you suddenly find yourself with an hour’s notice that company is coming, and drastic measures need to be implemented.  One day when this happened, I panicked, and couldn’t figure out where to start. So, reasonable person that I am, I phoned my little sister and complained about it instead of cleaning. For a college kid, she’s got a pretty good dose of common sense.  Certainly more common sense than I do when I’m panicking.  And so here’s Lauren’s thirty-minute housecleaning method that she gave me.

1. Put all the dishes in the dishwasher. If there are dishes to be done by hand, do the big ones, and, if you’re really short on time, leave the little stuff in the sink.

2. Wipe down the kitchen counters and stove.

3. Pick up anything that’s on the floor in the living room.

4. Wipe down the sink in the bathroom.

Beyond that, she sagely advises, no one will really notice or care if your napkins that you’re hemming are still sitting on the coffee table, or if you haven’t vacuumed under the couch.  I would like to add that, if they do care about those small details, I may not even want ’em in my house anyway.
Now, completely unrelated — can anyone tell me how a Kitchenaid mixer disappears in a move? I didn’t discover its absence until I was trying to mix up my pumpkin cake yesterday afternoon. The mixer itself still hasn’t been discovered, despite the diligent efforts of a three-person search party. Thank heavens my friend Jade is a pro at whipping cream by hand.

About Charity

I have an inexcusable number of cookbooks (and like to experiment with them), have worked in architectural antiques, and have been sewing most of my life. I hold a Bachelor of Science in Textiles & Apparel and Fashion Merchandising from Lipscomb University, and I am currently pursuing my M.S. in Historic/Cultural Dress and Textiles at the University of Georgia. Doing household things (except for cleaning!) and hunting for antiques are my favorite pastimes.
This entry was posted in Cleaning Tips & Tricks, Mrs. Everett's Household Guide. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lauren’s 30-Minutes-Till-Company Housecleaning Tactic

  1. Jenny says:

    If you don’t have a dishwasher, and if you aren’t doing any baking for your guests, then the oven makes a great hiding place for dirty dishes. Or so I’ve heard. 😉

Leave a Reply

