Some Clever Ideas for Moving

Howie helps pack

Howie bids farewell to the old abode.

We moved in August, which is one of several reasons why I haven’t said much here lately. While I still have three boxes to unpack (and a sewing room to organize, but we won’t talk about that), I think we’re finally settled in.  In case any of you are moving anytime in either the near or distant future, here are a couple of helpful suggestions:

  • My first and always favorite, courtesy of my Moomer:  Wrap your dishes in your dishtowels. When you run out of dishtowels, use aprons. When you run out of aprons, use hand towels and bath towels.  This serves a variety of purposes.  It keeps your dishes clean (no newsprint involved). It protects your dishes. And, perhaps best, it ensures that you will find your dishtowels in a timely manner.
  • Put your toolbox, tape, scissors, and several Sharpies all in one place so you don’t accidentally pack them or lose them (this is, unfortunately, not quite foolproof — Howie-cat decided that the Sharpies looked interesting and tried to steal them.)
  • Put your sheets and one set of towels in your dryer. It’s impossible to lose a dryer (a KitchenAid mixer, on the other hand…….well, that’s another story).
  • Put clothes in your suitcase(s) instead of another box.
  • And finally…….keep track of your $350 KitchenAid mixer. Normal people probably won’t have a problem with this. Some of us, well……we still haven’t found our mixer, even after Jonathan, my mom, my sister, my friend Jade, and I ransacked the entire house for it.  I just had to shell out big bucks for a new one. And it hurts my soul. On the bright side, however, I found my lightweight cotton robe that disappeared in our previous move. (But, just between us, I would rather have had the mixer.)
About Charity

I have an inexcusable number of cookbooks (and like to experiment with them), have worked in architectural antiques, and have been sewing most of my life. I hold a Bachelor of Science in Textiles & Apparel and Fashion Merchandising from Lipscomb University, and I am currently pursuing my M.S. in Historic/Cultural Dress and Textiles at the University of Georgia. Doing household things (except for cleaning!) and hunting for antiques are my favorite pastimes.
This entry was posted in How-To, Mrs. Everett's Household Guide and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Some Clever Ideas for Moving

  1. The longer you stay in one place the more the clutter will accumulate. The amount of clutter in the average US home is astounding. When you move, you cannot help but rid yourself of clutter-that’s the good part.

  2. Charity says:

    You’re so right! I did get rid of a ton of stuff (and I’m not finished yet!).

Leave a Reply

