Crab-Stuffed Mushrooms

I used to hate mushrooms. I even picked them out of anything with cream-of-mushroom soup.  Then, one day on a rare splurge at Red Lobster, Jonathan convinced me to try the crab-stuffed mushrooms.  My life has never been the same.

I liked it so well that I invented my own recipe. So here it is. I just finished eating way too many of them.

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms
The Daring Domestic’s Crab-Stuffed Mushrooms

Ingredients

  • A dozen mushrooms, give or take
  • 2 Tbsp. butter
  • Chopped onion (would be particularly pretty with some green onions, but I just had regular)
  • 1-2 cloves garlic, pressed
  • 1 can crab meat (Jonathan bought “lump crab meat,” which was particularly good, but you can use any kind)
  • Approx. 1/4 c. bread crumbs (I just kinda dump it in until it looks right)
  • Monterey Jack cheese
  • Finely chopped green bell pepper (optional — didn’t include in the ones pictured because I didn’t have any)

Directions

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Wash mushrooms and remove stems; reserve. Place mushrooms (stem-side down) on a greased cookie sheet. Either spray with cooking oil, or brush with butter.  Bake about 5 minutes.

In the meantime, finely chop stems.  Save some of them — about half.  Melt 2 Tbsp. butter in skillet; add chopped onion, garlic, and stems (and bell pepper, if you’re using any). Cook until tender, stirring regularly.

Remove mushrooms from oven; place upside-down on paper towels to drain.

Add bread crumbs and crab to skillet. Turn off heat or reduce to low. Stir in some shredded Monterey Jack cheese — about 1/3 to 1/2 cup.

Place mushrooms in buttered cookie sheet or buttered small oven-safe dish (Red Lobster uses some kind of little oval porcelain dish, which works beautifully).  Fill with filling; sprinkle generously with some more cheese.  Bake approx. 10 min or until everything is hot and melted.  Serve immediately.  (But don’t go and pop one in your mouth ten seconds after removing them from the oven. Of course I did that.)  Enjoy!

About Charity

I have an inexcusable number of cookbooks (and like to experiment with them), have worked in architectural antiques, and have been sewing most of my life. I hold a Bachelor of Science in Textiles & Apparel and Fashion Merchandising from Lipscomb University, and I am currently pursuing my M.S. in Historic/Cultural Dress and Textiles at the University of Georgia. Doing household things (except for cleaning!) and hunting for antiques are my favorite pastimes.
This entry was posted in Appetizers & Snacks, In the Kitchen, Side Dishes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

