Julian’s Handy-Dandy Cooking Philosophy, and a Dill Cheeseball Recipe

After months of promising to contribute to The Blog Of My Sister, I have finally sat down and decided to make good.  It’s about time, I say.  And I’m sure Charity says so, too.

Anyway, I thought I would begin my contribution with my philosophy of cooking.  But before I disclose said philosophy, hear my warning: Take my words with a grain of salt.  I may sound fabulous, but I have made plenty of cooking mistakes in my life.  I once had to dump a whole batch of soup down the drain.

Julian’s Handy-Dandy Cooking Philosophy

  1. Never follow a recipe exactly the way it’s written.  Recipes are not tyrannical despots.  They are guides.
  2. Don’t be afraid to make a mistake.  I mean, don’t do anything stupid like put celery in a chocolate cake, but trust yourself and your instincts.  If it doesn’t work, well, you’ve learned your lesson.
  3. If you want to make a particular kind of dish (say, a lasagna or something), don’t just look at one recipe.  Look at three or four recipes and see what you like.

All that said, here is my cheese ball recipe.  It’s kind of vague, but I did that on purpose.  If you have any questions, please refer back to my Handy-Dandy Cooking Philosophy for further clarification.  Besides, it’s kind of hard to ruin a cheese ball.

Julian's dill cheeseball, pinecone-style

This cheeseball, presented at Julian’s Christmas party and nestled in a bed of dill, really did look like a pinecone. Unfortunately, Lauren’s camera angle made it look a little more like a porcupine.

A Dill Cheeseball of Delight

  • 2 8-oz packages cream cheese, room temperature
  • 1 jar Old English Cheese Spread
  • A couple dollops of mayonnaise
  • Dash lemon juice
  • Some green onion, chopped (maybe like two of them?)
  • Some chopped fresh dill
  • Some sort of topping, like chopped pecans or maybe even almonds!

Mix all ingredients together.  Shape into ball, or a couple of balls, and roll in desired topping, or just serve as a dip!  Goes well with crackers or assorted veggies.  I made it into a pinecone by topping it with whole almonds and then garnishing with dill sprigs to look like pine branches.

There you go, and if Charity still loves me maybe she’ll let me share my Super Fantastic Wintry Eggnog recipe, even though winter is drawing to a close.  Honestly, eggnog should be a year-round event anyways.

Later, dudes!

This entry was posted in Appetizers & Snacks, In the Kitchen, Kitchen Tips & Gadgets. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

