Nanny’s Superb Banana Shakes

I’ve been on a banana shake kick here lately.  It’s great with breakfast. Or before bed when you’re trying not to eat chocolate. Or for a snack. Anyway! Here it is:

Nanny’s Excellent Banana Shakes

Serves 2.

  • 1 banana
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 cup vanilla yogurt (original calls for non-fat, but you can use whatever you like)
  • 1/2 cup pineapple juice (half of one of those little cans of pineapple juice works out just right)
  • A spoonful of honey

Put it all in a blender and blend until it’s nice and foamy and tasty.

It makes about two good glasses; I like to make it after supper and have one for dessert, and then have the other with breakfast. (I’m a zombie in the mornings, and there’s no telling what I’d do if I tried to make this as soon as I wake up.) It will separate a little if left in the fridge overnight — I just leave it in the blender pitcher overnight, put it back on the blender and blend for about a second, and it’s as good as new.

This also works very well if you forget your bananas until they’re at death’s door (am I the only one who does that? I hope not, since I just confessed). Pop ’em in the freezer, blackened peel and all. When you want to use one, run a little cold water over it to loosen the peel, and peel it quickly.

If anyone comes up with any variations on this, I’d love to hear it!

About Charity

I have an inexcusable number of cookbooks (and like to experiment with them), have worked in architectural antiques, and have been sewing most of my life. I hold a Bachelor of Science in Textiles & Apparel and Fashion Merchandising from Lipscomb University, and I am currently pursuing my M.S. in Historic/Cultural Dress and Textiles at the University of Georgia. Doing household things (except for cleaning!) and hunting for antiques are my favorite pastimes.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, In the Kitchen, Other Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Nanny’s Superb Banana Shakes

  1. I didn’t know the banana peel under cold water trick! That’s awesome! I love banana shakes. I made one once with cinnamon, nonfat greek yogurt (to make it a little creamier), and a little milk or soy milk. So good! The cinnamon was a surprisingly good addition!

    • Charity says:

      Haha, I only figured it out because the thing was freezing my fingers and I was trying to think of a way to thaw the outside fast! 😛 Cinnamon — good idea!!

Leave a Reply

