How to Reheat Kraft Macaroni & Cheese Successfully

You know that feeling, when you’re PMS-ish, or grumpy, or depressed, and you get one of those bizarre food cravings? Some days I simply have to have a box of Kraft macaroni and cheese (even though I normally prefer my macaroni made from scratch). I have no explanation for this phenomenon. But I have, on (very, very grumpy) occasions, been known to eat almost an entire box in one sitting.

I have one problem, though:  I simply can’t eat it when it’s leftover. I think it’s utterly vile when reheated.  I’ve tried several experiments — I tried adding American cheese. I tried cheddar. Nothing worked.

Then, tonight, I made a discovery.  Before I reheated it, I poured a little milk into the leftover macaroni, and then microwaved it.  Of course it pooled into the bottom, but I stirred it up with my fork, and it assimilated. It was just like it was made fresh!!  I HAD RESURRECTED THE KRAFT MACARONI!  I’ll never hate leftover macaroni again.

Of course, this also means that I no longer have a valid reason to eat the whole box.

About Charity

I have an inexcusable number of cookbooks (and like to experiment with them), have worked in architectural antiques, and have been sewing most of my life. I hold a Bachelor of Science in Textiles & Apparel and Fashion Merchandising from Lipscomb University, and I am currently pursuing my M.S. in Historic/Cultural Dress and Textiles at the University of Georgia. Doing household things (except for cleaning!) and hunting for antiques are my favorite pastimes.
This entry was posted in In the Kitchen, Kitchen Tips & Gadgets, Other Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to How to Reheat Kraft Macaroni & Cheese Successfully

  1. Frankie says:

    Also, butter. Just a pat or two with the milk makes it good

  2. Harley Kost says:

    Oh thanks for a quick dinner emergency

  3. melissaboling says:

    I just discovered today that you can substitute sour cream for the butter and milk, and it’s rich and creamy with less fat. I’ve tried reheating it the way you suggest, and also by adding butter, but it never works for me. I did eat the whole box by myself today. 😉

    • Charity says:

      Hm! I cheated last time and dumped a little milk in with the leftovers right away before refrigerating it — it seemed to work better that way. But, of course, eating the entire box is a great solution! I love your sour cream idea — will have to try that soon!

  4. Howe says:

    Your genius is showing 😉

  5. devlord says:

    Thank you so much I will never eat dry old KD ever again

Leave a Reply

