Two Excellent & Easy Recipes for Macaroni and Cheese

Finding a good macaroni and cheese recipe became a little bit of an obsession while I was in college.  I finally got one — actually, I got two.  Today I wanted to share these two macaroni and cheese recipes with y’all.  Why two?  I like having multiple good recipes for one item.  I don’t always plan my menus ahead, and sometimes which recipe I use depends on which items I happen to have on hand.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This is a good basic, made from a traditional medium white sauce with the addition of a little dry mustard for some extra flavor.

Serves about 3-4 as a side dish.

  • 2 Tbsp. butter
  • 2 Tbsp. flour
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. dry mustard
  • 1 c. milk
  • 1 c. cheese
  • 1/2 box of macaroni or whatever pasta shape you prefer

Cook and drain pasta according to package directions.  Do not rinse.  In small pot over medium heat, melt butter.  Whisk in flour, salt, and dry mustard; add milk (this makes a medium white sauce).  Cook and stir over medium heat until thickened.  Add approx. of grated cheese (I generally use cheddar, but other types work, too) and stir until melted.  Stir cooked pasta and sauce together in a Corning Ware or other oven-safe dish.  Can be served as-is immediately, or top with a little more cheese and bake, covered, at 350 degrees up to 25 minutes if desired (this can be a good trick if your macaroni is finished before your other dishes).

Creamy Macaroni and Cheese

This was adapted from a recipe from my friend Clair.  I made it at my parents’ house over Christmas, and my dad said it was the best mac-and-cheese he’d ever had.  I think it’s my new favorite too.

Approx. 6-8 servings as a side dish.

  • 1 can cheddar cheese soup
  • 1-1/2 c. milk
  • 2 c. grated cheese (I used cheddar; use whatever you prefer)
  • Approx. 1-1/2 c. sour cream
  • 1 box macaroni or whatever pasta shape you prefer

Cook and drain pasta according to package directions.  Do not rinse.  In small pot over medium heat, whisk together cheddar cheese soup and milk until hot; add sour cream and cheese and whisk until combined and melted.  Stir cooked pasta and sauce together in a Corning Ware or other oven-safe dish.  Can be served as-is immediately, or top with a little more cheese (optional) and bake, covered, at 300-350 degrees up to 30 minutes.

About Charity

I have an inexcusable number of cookbooks (and like to experiment with them), have worked in architectural antiques, and have been sewing most of my life. I recently graduated with a Ph.D. in Apparel, Merchandising, & Design from Iowa State University. Doing household things (except for cleaning!) and hunting for antiques are my favorite pastimes.
This entry was posted in In the Kitchen, Side Dishes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment